inspiration · sewing

Happy Flower Quilt 

Hey everyone! Welcome back, it’s so good to be on the blog again. Especially after such a long span of holidaying. I hope you all had a wonderful break, and hit the ground running for the fresh & exciting new year ahead. We’re finally settling into our new place. It’s amazing how long it can take to settle in after a move, isn’t it? Oh! I cut off my long locks! A little over 12 inches. Yikes! It barely hits my shoulders. I’m impetuous. Sometimes it seems I need to pull myself back. A lot. I mean, I miss tossing my hair around & running my hands through it. Its nice that it takes half the time to do my hair, and not have it up in a messy bun. Those messy buns were settling in permanently though. Happy that’s over! Anyway, never mind my hair right now. 

I’ve started sewing more regularly. Yay!! This is what I’ve been looking forward to ever since our move. Right now I’m sewing a bunch of teeny tiny pincushions. You’ve heard me mention Minki Kim, right? She’s hosting a pincushion SAL, and, well how could I resist?? If your not familiar check out her website here, and check her out on IG here. Be sure to pop over to my IG account to catch up on all the cute happenings as well.

In other news. Did you know I’m a huge fan of Atsuko Matsuyama, & collector of her books and fabrics? Have you heard of Atsuko Matsuyama’s Hanairo Quilt Book?? Or better known as Happy Flower Quilts. It’s been a few years since I’ve purchased the original book. Let me just show you..

Sooo pretty right? Pink, cute, yes please! Well a few years back I attempted a couple of projects. I even had my husband try and recalculate the measurements for me. Alas, it wasn’t meant to be. I was so intimidated by all that handsewing. Fraidy cat style. So, I just started picking it up, flipping through all the glorious projects (for inspiration only), never to made by these hands. Wah-wah. So sad. Have you heard that the folks over at Zakka Workshop, mainly Lindsay Fair & Kristyne Czepuryk of Pretty By Hand recently released an English version of Atsuko’s Happy Flower Quilts book?? Look!

TaDa!! Oh. My. Gosh. It’s just as beautiful, well laid out, excellent translation, easy to read step by step instructions, tons of photos.. I mean this book is fabulous! Let’s ooo & aaahhh over a few snapshots..




Gorgeous. Just beautiful. If you have an original copy, you’ll understand why this is all so exciting! Did you also know that Kristyne, Wynn Tan, and Melissa LeRay are also hosting a Happy Flower Quilt SAL soon? Eeep! I don’t know about you, but I’m excited about that. Still wildly intimidated, but very excited! Are you ready to join in??

A HUGE Thank You going out to Lindsay of Zakka Workshop and Kristyne of Pretty By Hand for so generously sending me a copy. You girls did an amazing job with this version! The rest of you, hurry! Get your copy HERE!

Happy Sewing, Veronica

Leave a Reply

