sewing

Sew Illustrated Book Blog Tour | Giveaway

image

Hello everyone. Welcome to my blog. Thank you for stopping in for my turn on the Sew Illustrated blog hop, with Minki Kim and Kristin Esser. If your new here, feel free to have a look around. You can click the ‘About the Author’ tab above to read more about me, and find additional links to my social media sites. Click, read, subscribe, follow, enjoy  ;^)

Today I’ll be sharing my makes from Minki and Kristin’s recently released Sew Illustrated book. Perhaps you’ve already order your copy. Waiting for it to arrive? Or, maybe, you’re still undecided. Let me just say, the cover alone is enough to draw you in. Let me show you..

See, I told you. Charming. Not to mention intriguing, am I right? I felt like I needed to sit outside with a cup of tea and thumb through the pages slowly. Fancy. -even though my tea cup was really just a prop  ;-p. Anywho. With so many adorable and useful projects (I’m all about useful), it was hard to choose what I wanted to make. Now you might be thinking to yourself, ‘So cute, but I don’t know if I could make those illustrations.’ Well, that’s exactly what I thought. You can. It’s well written, and the instructions are so clear and easy to follow. Minki, a dear friend of mine, knows how intimidated I felt before trying her technique. I mean Minki is an incredible artist. We all know this. But with her cheering me on, I finally decided to gave it a try. Then a couple of projects later, I was ready to make something from her book. I started small, and decided to stitch up these cute pincushions…

Hand embroidery and hand stitching is always my favorite choice, and cute fabrics are never far behind. In this case I went with my most recently acquired fabrics. Apple Farm by Elea Lutz and High Tea by Jera Brandvig. Take a closer look..

Then I thought, why stop there? I could make another project. So I made a little something special using Angela Pingel‘s upcoming fabric line Curious Dream by Windham Fabrics. Still under wraps, and I can’t wait to show it to you! ..and why not add a few embellishments to my other projects while I’m at it. Like this one which includes hand embroidery and a little illustration..

Once you get going, you won’t be able to help yourself. By the end you realize you were able to make all those pretty little sewing illustrations! So you go ahead and give yourself a well deserved pat on the back. Don’t forget to thank Minki and Kristin for showing you that you are able to do anything your little sewing heart desires, because I sure do! And I’m not done. Had I not had a move to get through, I know I wouldn’t have stopped. But I’ll be sharing more once I get a little more settled in, so be sure to come back.

If you haven’t already rushed to order your copy of Sew Illustrated, I hope I’ve inspired you to do so today. Of course if you’d like a chance to win Minki and Kristin’s book, C&T Publications has generously offered a free copy to one of you. All you have to do is leave a comment below, by the 2nd of September. This giveaway is open internationally, and a winner will be chosen at random. Be sure to follow the blog hop for more chances as well!

A Huge Thank You to Minki and Kristin for including me here today, and for being incredibly sweet friends. I consider myself one lucky girl. You are both amazing, Thank You! Don’t forget to check out our line up. Here’s a list of the wonderful talent involved just in case..

August 15: C&T Publishing

August 16: Amy of nanaCompany

August 17: Wynn of zakkaArt

August 18: Sedef of Down Grapevine Lane

August 19: Lisa of A Spoonful of Sugar

August 20: Amy of chick chick sewing

August 21: Stacy of Stacy Olson

August 22: Debbie of happy little cottage

August 23: Generation Q Magazine

August 24: Faith of Sarana Ave

August 25: Ayda of cafenohut

August 26: Melissa of Oh, how sweet

August 27: Jemima of Tied with a Ribbon

August 28: Veronica of Vivid Felicity  <- you are here! 

August 29: Sharon of Lilabelle Lane Creations

August 30: Nadra of ellis & higgs

August 31: Kristyne of pretty by hand

September 1: Elnora on Instagram

September 2: Jennie of Clover and Violet

September 3: Auribuzz

September 4: Minki of Minki’s Work Table and Kristin of They Grow Up Too Fast

 

See. Wow. Once again, thank you for stopping by today. And as always, I hope I’ve left you all feeling inspired.

Happy Sewing, Veronica

 

GIVEAWAY NOW CLOSED

58 thoughts on “Sew Illustrated Book Blog Tour | Giveaway

  1. Love your sweet projects and the book! I love seeing all the lovely projects everyone is making – lots of inspiration! Can’t wait to try this out soon and thanks so much for chance to win!

    Like

  2. I just re-discovered hand sewing and embroidery. I now remember how much I loved doing it and I always have a project or two going. I love this Sew Illustrated process; using a dark contrasting thread adds so much to the designs.

    Like

  3. Such a beautiful projects impossible to choose one I love your ittle pincushion but OMG that bed cushion looks wonderful.
    Thank you so much for this chance to win, fingers crossed 🙂

    Like

  4. You certainly have inspired me! Seeing these projects just make me smile as they look so cozy and sweet. I’d love to try making a few myself!

    Like

  5. So pretty and so inspiring! I’ve got this book on my wish list – I’m just smitten with the projects everyone is making (your pincushions and pillow have me itching to stitch some too!). Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful projects.

    Like

Leave a Reply

